Rotary Club of Hamburg has ‘Passing of the Gavel’ ceremony, awards honors
The Rotary Club of Hamburg held its Passing of the Gavel ceremony June 29 at its annual spring picnic at the Taylor Road Cabin in a far from usual rite of passage to swear in its new board of officers for 2021-22.
Michele Hanley was sworn in as president, taking over from John Nowak and Diana Straube became president-elect, committing to be president next year. Other officers are: Tim Hoelscher, treasurer; Tim Straube, secretary; and Eileen Hotho, publicity chair. Paul Harris Fellow Awards were presented to Dave Woolley, Lisa Avery, Tom Eaton and John Nowak.
The Rotary Club of Hamburg was founded 79 years ago and coordinates Warm the Children, provides college scholarships to Hamburg, Frontier and St. Francis high school students and is one of the four service organizations that coordinates the Burger Fest each July. The Rotary Club meets Tuesday evenings at 6 p.m. at Uncle Joe’s Diner.
Past President John Nowak receives "thank you" gift from the club.
Four club member receive Paul Harris Awards.  From left is Dave Wooley, Lisa Avery, Tom Eaton and Paul Nowak.  Awards were presented by Foundation Chair Amanda Black (center) and her future Rotarian Bristol Black.